Search

Additional Gluten free tips...


If you have a Gluten or Wheat Allergy, you will find below some helpful tips to substitute while baking and a list of foods to avoid while reading labels.

How To Substitute For Wheat Flour:

To make a standard recipe free of white flour, substitute one of the following:

1- 3/8 cups barley flour for 1 cup white flour 1 cup corn flour for 1 cup white flour 7/8 cup corn meal for each cup white flour 3/8 cup potato flour for 1 cup of white flour 7/8 cup rice flour for each cup of white flour 1 cup rye meal for 1 cup white flour 1-1/2 cups ground rolled oats or 1 cup oat flour for 1 cup white flour 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup white flour. 1 cup of wheat flour equals… 7/8 cup amaranth 7/8 cup garbanzo bean 7/8 cup chickpea (garbanzo) 3/4 cup corn flour 1 cup cornmeal 3/4 cup millet flour 3/4 cup oat flour 5/8 cup potato flour 3/4 cup potato starch 7/8 cup rice flour 3/4 cup soy flour

Important – Always use a double portion of baking powder with dark flour. Recipes when converting a white flour recipe to a dark flour. Average use is 2.5 tsp. baking powder to each cut of flour.

Substitution of various flour for white flour recipes gives new and exciting flavors. Corn flour thickens sauces better than cornstarch and may be used in the same proportions as white flour. It also combines well with other flours in making muffins.

Ingredients to avoid while Label Reading:

Courtesy of WebMD

Barley (flakes, flour, pearl) Breading and bread stuffing Brewer’s yeast Bulgur Durum (type of wheat) Farro/Faro (also known as spelt) Graham flour Hydrolyzed wheat protein Kamut (a type of wheat) Malt, malt extract, malt syrup, and malt flavoring Malt vinegar Malted milk Matzoh, matzoh meal Modified wheat starch Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour, and whole oats (unless they are from pure, uncontaminated oats) Rye bread and flour Seitan (A meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in many vegetarian dishes) Semolina Spelt (A type of wheat also known as farro or faro, dinkel) Triticale Wheat bran Wheat flour Wheat germ Wheat starch These other ingredients may be less familiar to you, but they also contain gluten: Atta (chapati flour) Dinkel (also known as spelt, a type of wheat) Einkorn (type of wheat) Emmer (type of wheat) Farina Fu (a dried gluten product made from wheat and used in some Asian dishes) Beer, ale, lager Broth, soup, soup bases Cereals Some chocolates, some chocolate bars, and licorice Flavored coffees and teas Imitation bacon bits and imitation seafoods Medications (check with your pharmacist) Pastas Rice Salad dressings Sausages, hot dogs, deli meats Sauces, marinades, gravies Seasonings Soy sauce


25 views

Tel : 781-343-1375

Needham, MA

https://www.hollibassin.com/

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest

©2020 by Holli Bassin Health Coach

Disclaimer